Department of Physics is one of the oldest and prestigious departments started its journey since the inception of the college. From the year 1949 to 1984 the department was offering hounours and general degree in Physics under the University of Calcutta. However since 1985 it has been under the affiliation of Vidyasagar University. The department is offering Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) pattern for Physics honours and general since 2016.  

The department is successfully carrying the legacy of its glorious heritage. Several eminent teachers having enormous contribution to physics education and research, nurtured the department with ultimate care and affection. The quality of teachers has always remained excellent as they are recruited by the Public Service Commisiion of West Bengal. The department produced several distinguished alumni who are placed in very respectable positions in India and abroad. The alumni association (JRCPAA) of the department is praiseworthy in terms of their continuous endeavour to inculcate physics education through numerous activities among upcoming students.

Cohesion between the teachers and the students is the key strength of the department and we are committed to develop our students with the personalised care. There are currently five permanent faculties as well as a SACT Level-2 faculty in this department. There are five labs for general physics experiments and a dedicated computer lab for learning computational physics under this department. The students are nurtured with care to make them prepared for national level examinations and the outcome has remained quite encouraging.

The department is committed to up hold its eminence and spreading quality education with promise for continuous enrichment.