The Department of Sanskrit was started from 1953 with I. A. under the University of Calcutta. Since 1960 P.U. course was started when Intermediate Courses were abolished. In 1957 B. A. (Pass) courses were started under the said University. Prof. Harihar Misra, Sasthi Prasad Bhattacharya, Sailesh Chandra Bhattacharya, Pradip Kumar Majumdar had been taught at that period. In 1962 B.A. (Hons.) courses were started with the eminent Professors like Pradip Kumar Majumdar, Bhupendra Nath Bhattacharya, Pranab Roy, Bishnupada Bhattacharya, D. K. Kanjilal, Sitanatah Acharya, Ramananda Acharya, Ram Narayan Mukherjee. Since 1985 the department as well as college is affilated under Vidyasagar University. Now B.A. (Hons.), B.A. (Gen.) and CBCS courses are running successfully. After pass out many students admitted at the glorious universities like University of Calcutta, Jadavpur University, Rabindra Bharati University, Vidyasagar University etc. Senior pass out students were appointed as Assistant Professor at colleges, Assistant Teacher at schools and so on. Every year many pass out students are qualified at UGC-NET, SET and other competitive exams.